view all news & events

29.04.2022

Digital Service Act: Agreement in the trilogue procedure - DSA comes closer to coming into force

At the EU level, the Council, the Parliament and the EU Commission agreed on a final text for the Digital Services Act in a trilogue last weekend. The EU regulation is intended to lead to uniform regulation of online platforms across the EU.

The EU Council and Parliament had each proposed amendments to the text of the regulation (see also our last article). The consolidated version of the regulation has not yet been published - we will inform you as soon as it is available. However, the official press release highlights the following points in particular, which are to be expected in the final text:

  • The distinction between "normal" and very large online platforms (services with more than 45 million monthly active users in the European Union) is maintained. Very large online platforms are particularly required to analyse systemic risks and carry out a risk mitigation analysis.
  • Marketplaces should be obliged to collect and display information about the products sold to ensure that platform users are adequately informed ("Know Your Customer").
  • Recently in public discussion again and again, and now expected to be included in the final text, is the prohibition of "dark patterns", i.e. a design of the platform or user interface that is designed to lead the user to actions that are contrary to his or her interests.
  • Increased transparency obligations are to apply to the parameters of recommendation systems in order to improve information for platform users and their decisions.
  • Against the backdrop of Russian aggression in Ukraine and its particular impact on the manipulation of online information, a new article has been added to the text introducing a rapid response mechanism. The mechanism is intended to allow the Commission to analyse the impact of the activities of very large platforms on the relevant crisis and to take measures to protect fundamental rights.
  • In the final version, platforms are to be prohibited from displaying targeted advertising based on the use of personal data of minors.

What happens next?

After the trialogue, the official vote on the final version must now take place in the EU Parliament and the Council. If the latter happens before the summer break, the regulation could still enter into force in 2022; and otherwise, one would probably have to reckon with the beginning of 2023.

Authors

Christoph Krück

Dr. Christoph Krück

Senior Associate

visit profile
Johannes Schäufele

Johannes Schäufele

Counsel

visit profile

Alle News & Events anzeigen

29.04.2022

Digital Service Act: Einigung im Trilog-Verfahren – In Kraft treten DSA rückt näher

Auf EU Ebene hat sich vergangenes Wochenende der Rat, das Parlament und die EU-Kommission im Trilog auf einen finalen Text für den Digital Services Act geeinigt. Die EU Verordnung soll zu einer EU-einheitlichen Regulierung von Online-Plattformen führen.

EU Rat und Parlament hatten zuletzt jeweils Änderungen am Verordnungstext vorgeschlagen (vgl. hierzu auch unseren letzten Beitrag). Die konsolidierte Fassung der Verordnung ist noch nicht veröffentlicht – wir werden hierüber informieren, sobald uns diese vorliegt. Die offizielle Pressemitteilung hebt aber insbesondere folgende Punkte hervor, mit denen im finalen Text zu rechnen ist:

  • Die Unterscheidung zwischen „normalen“ und sehr großen Online-Plattformen (Dienste mit mehr als 45 Millionen monatlich aktiven Nutzenden in der Europäischen Union) wird beibehalten. Sehr große Online-Plattformen sind insbesondere dazu angehalten, systemische Risiken zu analysieren und eine Risikominderungsanalyse durchzuführen.
  • Marktplätze sollen verpflichtet werden, Informationen über die verkauften Produkte zu erheben und anzuzeigen, um sicherzustellen, dass die Plattformnutzer angemessen informiert werden („Know Your Customer“).
  • Zuletzt immer wieder in der öffentlichen Diskussion und im finalen Text wohl nunmehr aufgenommen, ist das Verbot von„Dark Pattern“, d.h. ein Design der Plattform bzw. Benutzeroberfläche, das darauf ausgelegt ist, den Benutzer zu Handlungen zu verleiten, die dessen Interessen entgegenlaufen.
  • Erhöhte Transparenzpflichten sollen für die Parameter von Empfehlungssystemen gelten, um die Information für Plattformnutzer und ihre Entscheidungen zu verbessern.
  • Vor dem Hintergrund der russischen Aggression in der Ukraine und der besonderen Auswirkungen aufdie Manipulation von Online-Informationen wurde ein neuer Artikel in den Text aufgenommen, mit dem ein Krisenreaktionsmechanismus eingeführt wird. Der Mechanismus soll der Kommission ermöglichen, die Auswirkungen der Tätigkeiten sehr großer Plattformen auf die entsprechende Krise zu analysieren und Maßnahmen zum Grundrechtsschutzzu ergreifen.
  • Plattformen soll in der finalen Fassung untersagt werden, zielgerichtete Werbung anzuzeigen, die auf der Verwendung personenbezogener Daten von Minderjährigen beruht.

Wie geht es weiter?

Nach dem Trilog muss jetzt noch die offizielle Abstimmung über die Endfassung im EU-Parlament und im Rat erfolgen. Sofern letzteres noch vor der Sommerpause geschieht, könnte die Verordnung noch 2022 in Kraft treten; andernfalls müsste man wohl mit Anfang 2023 rechnen.

Autor/innen

Christoph Krück

Dr. Christoph Krück

Senior Associate

Profil anzeigen
Johannes Schäufele

Johannes Schäufele

Counsel

Profil anzeigen