Cathy Hummels and the consequences – court decisions regarding influencer posts remain inconsistent

29.06.2020

When are posts from influencers surreptitious advertising? The courts repeatedly come to different conclusions on this question. For example, the current decision of the Munich Higher Regional Court in the case of Cathy Hummels (Case No. 29 U 2333/19) contradicts a decision of the Frankfurt Higher Regional Court (Case No. 6 W 68/19) from September 2019.

"Business action" as an essential criterion

The question of whether an influencer post contains surreptitious advertising or not is judged by the courts according to the Law against Unfair Competition (UWG). The UWG stipulates that the commercial purpose of a business act must be made clear if it is not directly apparent from the circumstances - and the consumer is thus induced to make a business decision which he would not have made otherwise. An act is deemed to be commercial if, upon objective consideration, the act is aimed at promoting the sale or purchase of goods or services.

The decisions on the influencers Pamela Reif (Az. 13 O 38/18), Cathy Hummels (Az. 4 HK O 14312/18) and Vreni Frost (Az. 5 U 83/18) have indeed concretized the competition law requirements for posts in social networks. However, the courts still lack a consistent approach.

No labelling obligation if the commercial purpose is recognizable

In the proceedings against Cathy Hummels, the Munich Regional Court held that: The posting of products by an influencer is a business act if the products are tagged and the tags lead to the websites of the respective manufacturers.

The Higher Regiona Court Munich sees this differently, as far as the press coverage shows, and already denies a business act. The reasons for the judgement are not yet available.

The Regional Court had argued that the posts promoted the sales of the linked companies. At the same time, Cathy Hummels was also promoting her own company. For as an influencer, she made her living from generating income by marketing the products of others.

However, the Regional Court also took the view that the commercial purpose of the posts was already apparent from the circumstances. The account of Cathy Hummels was a public and verified account (blue check mark) and had a high number of followers (485,000 at that time). Since the commercial purpose was obvious, the posts did not have to be marked as advertising. As a result, the Regional Court denied surreptitious advertising, and the Higher Regional Court accepted this finding.

In addition the Regional Court Munich still pointed out that especially children and young people are able to recognize the commercial purpose of influencer posts. 

Higher Regional Court Frankfurt requires marking

On this point, the Higher Regional Court Frankfurt comes to a different conclusion: The subject of the proceedings before the Higher Regional Court Frankfurt were posts in which an influencer (582,000 followers) thanked two companies for trips and linked them.

The Higher Regional Court Frankfurt assumed here (as the Regional Court Munich has in the Cathy Hummels case, but differently than the Higher Regional Court Munich) a business act. However, it did not follow from the circumstances that the influencer was pursuing a commercial purpose with her posts. She addresses predominantly young consumers and presents herself thereby primarily as private person and not as an advertising medium. Accordingly, she should have labelled the contributions in question as advertising.

Conclusion

It remains to be seen whether a uniform jurisdiction will emerge in the near future. This would be desirable in order to provide legal certainty for influencers and companies alike. The fact that the Higher Regional Court Munich has opened the way for an appeal to the Federal Supreme Court in the matter of Cathy Hummels is therefore to be welcomed.

Subject fields

Cathy Hummels und die Folgen – Linie der Gerichte zu Influencer-Posts bleibt uneinheitlich

29.06.2020

Wann handelt es sich bei Posts von Influencern um Schleichwerbung? Die Gerichte gelangen in dieser Frage immer wieder zu unterschiedlichen Ergebnissen. So widerspricht die aktuelle Entscheidung des Oberlandesgerichts München in Sachen Cathy Hummels (Az. 29 U 2333/19) einem Beschluss des Oberlandesgerichts Frankfurt (Az. 6 W 68/19) aus dem September 2019.

„Geschäftliche Handlung“ als wesentliches Kriterium

Die Frage, ob bei einem Influencer-Post Schleichwerbung vorliegt oder nicht, beurteilen die Gerichte nach dem Gesetz gegen den unlauteren Wettbewerb (UWG). Das UWG sieht vor, dass der kommerzielle Zweck einer geschäftlichen Handlung kenntlich gemacht werden muss, sofern er sich nicht unmittelbar aus den Umständen ergibt – und der Verbraucher so zu einer geschäftlichen Entscheidung veranlasst wird, die er andernfalls nicht getroffen hätte. Eine geschäftliche Handlung liegt vor, wenn die Handlung bei einer objektiven Betrachtung darauf gerichtet ist, den Absatz oder Bezug von Waren oder Dienstleistungen zu fördern.

Die Entscheidungen zu den Influencerinnen Pamela Reif (Az. 13 O 38/18), Cathy Hummels (Az. 4 HK O 14312/18) und Vreni Frost (Az. 5 U 83/18) haben die wettbewerbsrechtlichen Anforderungen für Posts in den sozialen Netzwerken zwar konkretisiert. Nach wie vor lassen die Gerichte aber eine einheitliche Linie vermissen.

Keine Kennzeichnungspflicht, wenn der kommerzielle Zweck erkennbar ist

In dem Verfahren gegen Cathy Hummels hielt das Landgericht München fest: Das Posten von Produkten durch einen Influencer ist eine geschäftliche Handlung, wenn die Produkte getagt sind und die Tags auf die Webseiten der jeweiligen Hersteller führen.

OLG München sieht dies anders, soweit sich aus der Presseberichterstattung ergibt, und verneint bereits eine geschäftliche Handlung. Die Urteilsbegründung liegt noch nicht vor.

Das Landgericht hatte argumentiert, dass die Posts den Absatz der verlinkten Unternehmen förderten. Gleichzeitig fördere Cathy Hummels auch ihr eigenes Unternehmen. Denn als Influencerin lebe sie davon, Einkünfte mit der Vermarktung der Produkte anderer zu erzielen.

Allerdings war das Landgericht auch der Auffassung, dass der kommerzielle Zweck der Posts bereits aus den Umständen erkennbar sei. Das Konto von Cathy Hummels sei ein öffentliches und verifiziertes Konto (blaues Häkchen) und habe eine hohe Followerzahl (zum damaligen Zeitpunkt 485.000). Da also der kommerzielle Zweck erkennbar war, mussten die Beiträge auch nicht als Werbung gekennzeichnet werden. Im Ergebnis verneinte das Landgericht damit Schleichwerbung, und das OLG schloss sich diesem Ergebnis an.

Ergänzend wies das Landgericht München noch darauf hin, dass gerade Kinder und Jugendliche in der Lage seien, den kommerziellen Zweck von Influencer-Beiträgen zu erkennen.  

OLG Frankfurt verlangt Kennzeichnung

In diesem Punkt kommt das OLG Frankfurt zu einem anderen Ergebnis: Gegenstand des Verfahrens vor dem OLG Frankfurt waren Beiträge, in denen sich eine Influencerin (582.000 Follower) bei zwei Unternehmen für Reisen bedankt und diese verlinkt hat.

Das OLG Frankfurt ging hier (so wie in der Cathy Hummels Sache auch das LG München, aber anders als nun das OLG München) von einer geschäftlichen Handlung aus. Jedoch ergebe sich aus den Umständen gerade nicht, dass die Influencerin mit ihren Beiträgen einen kommerziellen Zweck verfolge. Sie richte sich nämlich vorwiegend an jugendliche Verbraucher und präsentiere sich dabei in erster Linie als Privatperson und nicht als Werbeträgerin. Demnach hätte sie die betreffenden Beiträge als Werbung kennzeichnen müssen.

Fazit

Es bleibt abzuwarten, ob sich in der nächsten Zeit eine einheitliche Rechtsprechung herauskristallisiert. Um Influencern ebenso wie Unternehmen Rechtssicherheit zu geben, wäre dies wünschenswert. Dass das OLG München in der Sache Cathy Hummels den Weg zur Revision zum Bundesgerichtshof freigegeben hat, ist daher zu begrüßen.